VRHAMMY Award & Jury

The VRHAMMY AWARD, endowed with 5,000 euros, has been awarded to the VR documentary Reeducated by Sam Wolson. The award ceremony, kindly supported by the ZEIT Stiftung Ebelin und Gerd Bucerius, was held online in the presence of all artists during the festival opening on 4 June 2021.

Presented by the ZEIT-Stiftung Gerd und Ebelin Bucerius

Jury Statement

Acceptance Speach

International Jury

Caroline Monnet is an award-winning filmmaker and visual artist working in film,video, installation and sculpture. Her films have been screened at numerous international festivals including Sundance and Toronto. In 2017 she participated in the Cinefondation Residency in Cannes. Her work has been shown at the National Gallery of Canada, the Museum of Contemporary Art in Montreal and the 2019 Whitney Biennial. She currently has an exhibition at the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts.

Manuel Rossner is an artist and curator. Since 2012, Rossner has been designing digital spaces and virtual worlds in which he researches the effects of technological developments on society and art. He builds interactive architecture with digital materials that is spatial intervention and virtual extension. In 2017, Rossner designed a digital extension for the NRW-Forum Düsseldorf and curated the VR exhibition “Unreal” together with Alain Bieber, including Tabita Rezaire and Banz & Bowinkel. In 2019, he designed the virtual gallery building “CUBE” for Galerie Roehrs & Boetsch in Zurich.

Tricia Tuttle has been Director of the BFI London Film Festival since 2018 and in her role is also responsible for the BFI Flare: London LGBTIQ+ Film Festival. After studying film, she worked as a programmer, lecturer, writer and journalist for various festivals and institutions, including the British Academy of Film & Television Arts (BAFTA). Under Tricia’s direction, the BFI London Film Festival has expanded its programming to include television series and digital platforms as well as immersive art. The new section “LFF Expanded” was launched in 2020 in partnership with the National Theatre.

VRHAMMY Award & Jury

Der mit 5.000 Euro dotierte VRHAMMY AWARD geht an die VR-Dokumentation Reeducated von Sam Wolson. Die Preisverleihung mit freundlicher Unterstützung der ZEIT Stiftung Ebelin und Gerd Bucerius fand  im Rahmen der Festivaleröffnung am 4. Juni 2021 in Anwesenheit aller Künstler*innen online statt.

Präsentiert von der ZEIT-Stiftung Gerd und Ebelin Bucerius

Jurystatement

Dankesrede

Internationale Jury

Caroline Monnet ist eine preisgekrönte Filmemacherin und bildende Künstlerin, die in den Bereichen Film,Video, Installation und Skulptur arbeitet. Ihre Filme wurden auf zahlreichen internationalen Festivals unter anderem in Sundance und Toronto gezeigt. 2017 nahm sie an der Cinefondation Residency in Cannes teil. Ihre Arbeiten wurden bereits in der National Gallery of Canada, im Museum of Contemporary Art in Montreal und auf der Whitney Biennale 2019 gezeigt. Derzeit hat sie eine Ausstellung im Montreal Museum of Fine Arts.


Manuel Rossner ist Künstler und Kurator. Seit 2012 gestaltet Rossner digitale Räume und virtuelle Welten, in denen er die Auswirkungen technologischer Entwicklungen auf Gesellschaft und Kunst untersucht. Er baut interaktive Architektur mit digitalen Materialien, die räumliche Intervention und virtuelle Erweiterung ist. 2017 entwarf Rossner eine digitale Erweiterung für das NRW-Forum Düsseldorf und kuratierte gemeinsam mit Alain Bieber die VR-Ausstellung »Unreal«, u.a. mit Tabita Rezaire und Banz & Bowinkel. Im Jahr 2019 gestaltete er das virtuelle Galeriegebäude »CUBE« für die Galerie Roehrs & Boetsch in Zürich.

Tricia Tuttle ist seit 2018 Direktorin des BFI London Film Festivals und in ihrer Funktion auch für das BFI Flare: London LGBTIQ+ Film Festival verantwortlich. Nach ihrem Filmstudium arbeitete sie als Programmgestalterin, Dozentin, Autorin und Journalistin für verschiedene Festivals und Institutionen unter anderem auf für die British Academy of Film & Television Arts (BAFTA). Unter Tricias Leitung hat das BFI London Film Festival sein öffentliches Programm Fernsehserien und digitale Plattformen sowie Immersive Art erweitert. Die neue Sektion LFF Expanded wurde 2020 in Partnerschaft mit dem National Theatre ins Leben gerufen.