pfeil-orange

Terms and Conditions VRHAM! Festival

pfeil-orange

ABOUT

These are the Terms and Conditions of des VRHAM! Festival e.V. for VRHAM! – Virtual Reality & Arts Festival 2019. is an annual festival that showcases virtual art in all its forms and manifestations. VRHAM! is the first artistic Virtual Reality festival in Germany, offering artists an international platform on which to present and create. VRHAM! festival awards prizes. A jury of international experts will select the winners of the categories VRHAM! MAIN PROGRAM and HAMBURG EMERGING ARTISTS, to be announced during a public award ceremony. The selection of the works for the 2019 edition is thematically based on the motto „DIS:SOLUTION”.

pfeil-orange

ORGANIZATION

Legal holder and organizer of VRHAM! 2019 is VRHAM! Festival e.V. (non-profit association).

pfeil-orange

DATES

25 January 2019
3 March 2019
7 - 15 June 2019 at Hamburg’s Oberhafenquartier
7 June 2019
pfeil-orange

SUBMISSION FEE

There is no submission fee.

pfeil-orange

RULES FOR SUBMISSION

(1) For the categories “MAIN PROGRAM” and “HAMBURG EMERGING ARTISTS”
VRHAM! is accepting artistic Virtual, Augmented, and Mixed Reality Experiences and multimedia installations.

(2) Works invited to participate in VRHAM! 2019 will be chosen by the Artistic Director to his/her sole discretion. The selected works will be displayed during the 2019 festival for a public audience.

(3) The duration of the submitted projects should not be longer than 15 Minutes. Exceptions can be made by prior arrangement.

(4) The release date should not be prior to January 2018. Any project that is still a work-in-progress must be completed by 15 May 2019 the latest. Exceptions can be made by prior arrangement.

(5) The accepted language for submissions is German or English, or original language with German and/or English subtitles.

(6) All selected experiences shown within the Main Program of the festival are applicable for the awards.

(7) Applicable for the Hamburg Emerging Artist Award are all works by artists based in Hamburg.

(8) There is no age restriction to join the competition.

(9) “VRHAM! RESIDENCIES” aim at up-and-coming national and international artists for the (further) development of innovative working methods in the field of Virtual Reality art and 360° film. VRHAM! 2019 in cooperation with Filmförderung Hamburg Schleswig-Holstein announces one residency with a regional and one with an international focus. The residencies will take place directly in advance of this year’s festival (5 days within the period between 31 May and 7 June 2019). Two creative teams of up to three persons each can (further) develop innovative works in the field of Virtual Reality art and 360° film and will be accompanied by renowned international mentors. The presentation of the works will take place during the opening weekend of VRHAM! 2019 (07 to 10 June 2019).

pfeil-orange

SUBMISSION MATERIAL

(1) Please apply for the categories announced in the Open Call via our online submission form only at www.vrham.de/en/opencall. The submission is only valid if the online form is submitted completed.

(2) “MAIN PROGRAM” and “HAMBURG EMERGING ARTISTS”: The projects have to be sent via wetransfer to opencall@vrham.de within the deadline. Please make sure to clearly mark your submission with the title of your work so that we can match it to the form.
Please submit your files in the following format:

  • 360° videos: Maximum file size 2 GB; in H.264; 30 to 60 FPS; a resolution of min. 3K
  • Executable VR experiences: Maximum file size 2 GB; min. stable 45 FPS (preferred 60; up to 90 FPS) on OS Windows, Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 or equivalent

If applicable you can also submit your work via a password-protected streaming link, a Steam key, or a download link to your 360° video file, app download package, or other executable file. If your experience can’t be viewed via one of our accepted VR headsets (Oculus Go, Samsung Gear VR, HTC Vive, Oculus Rift or similar) or if you are facing problems regarding the above-mentioned format, please drop us a line: opencall@vrham.de

(3) “VRHAM! RESIDENCIES”: Send a detailed concept paper of the project you would like to (further) develop during the residency (max. 12 pages; feel free to add images, moods, videos of past works) via wetransfer to opencall@vrham.de within the deadline. Please make sure to clearly mark your submission with the title of your work so that we can match it to the form.

pfeil-orange

JURY AND AWARDS

(1) A jury of 5 international experts selects the winners of the two categories “MAIN PROGRAM” and “HAMBURG EMERGING ARTISTS”. Both prizes will be announced during a public award ceremony. Artists and producers are encouraged to attend the event.

(2) The results of the “VRHAM! RESIDENCIES” will be presented (and possibly further developed) during the opening weekend.

(3) The audience award will be announced in a separate closing event.

pfeil-orange

SELECTION

(1) We will notify you by email of by phone if your project was selected for VRHAM! 2019. Please make sure to provide us with up-to-date contact information.

(2) With the submission you affirm to hold the complete copyrights, rights of use or any other rights to your work, that are essential for presenting your work in the course of the VRHAM! festival, and you grant the VRHAM! Festival e.V., due to confirming your participation at the festival through VRHAM!, the right of use free of charge, showcasing your work open to public in the course of the festival as often as required.

(3) With the submission you also assure that your work, as well as the materials specified in (4), are free of any rights of third parties. In case of third parties asserting any claims to VRHAM! Festival e.V. regarding the provided works and materials, the contributor will release us from these claims and will be liable for any necessary legal defence expenses defrayed by VRHAM!

(4) After your project has been selected for VRHAM! 2019 there is no possibility of withdrawing your submission from the festival.

(5) You hereby agree to provide the festival with all materials and information regarding your project (including press material, trailers, etc.) to be properly showcased and presented during VRHAM! 2019. By submitting these materials you grant VRAHM! the rights required to promote the festival in all media. The exemption according to para. 2 applies accordingly.

(6) VRHAM! e.V. reserves the right to decline the showcasing of your work at the 2019 festival if your requirements for the technical and setup of the space differ substantially from what you have stated in your submission.

(7) By applying the “VRHAM! RESIDENCIES” the submitter also assures that he/she will be available within the specified period of time and that he/she will participate in the residencies with persons named beforehand. Furthermore, the submitter agrees to publicly present his/her work on the opening weekend of VRHAM! 2019. VRHAM! Festival e.V. will cover travel expenses, accommodation in Hamburg and meals of the creative team (max. 3 persons) for the period specified in the invitation. In addition, VRHAM! Festival e.V. will provide appropriate workspace, a mentor for the artistic development as well as technical (VR) equipment according to prior arrangement.

pfeil-orange

VRHAM! ONLINE CHANNEL

Selected projects from the submissions will be invited, in addition to being showcased at the Festival, to participate in an online showcase displayed on a suitable internet platform for VRHAM! This platform will be open to the public and free of charge for persons unable to attend the festival. We will approach you individually to discuss the possibility to showcase your work on this platform. A selection of your work for presentation at the festival does not automatically guarantee online presentation.

VRHAM

pfeil-orange

Teilnahmebedingungen VRHAM! Festival

pfeil-orange

ABOUT

Dies sind die Teilnahmebedingungen des VRHAM! Festival e.V. zum VRHAM! – Virtual Reality & Arts Festival 2019. VRHAM! präsentiert jährlich die ganze Vielfalt virtueller Kunst. Es ist das erste künstlerische Virtual Reality-Festival Deutschlands und bietet Künstler*innen eine internationale Plattform zur Präsentation und Kreation ihrer Werke. Das VRHAM! Festival vergibt Preise an die beteiligten Künstler*innen. Eine internationale Experten-Jury entscheidet über die Vergabe der in den Kategorien VRHAM! MAIN PROGRAM und HAMBURG EMERGING ARTISTS verliehenen Preise, die im Rahmen der öffentlichen Preisverleihung verliehen werden.
Die Auswahl der Arbeiten für die zweite Ausgabe 2019 steht unter dem Motto „DIS:SOLUTION“.

pfeil-orange

ORGANISATION:

Rechtlicher Träger und Veranstalter von VRHAM! 2019 ist VRHAM! Festival e.V. (gemeinnütziger Verein).

pfeil-orange

TERMINE:

25. Januar 2019
17. März 2019
07. - 15. Juni 2019 im Hamburger Oberhafenquartier
07. Juni 2019
pfeil-orange

EINREICHUNGSGEBÜHR

Es wird keine Einreichungsgebühr erhoben.

pfeil-orange

BEDINGUNGEN FÜR DIE EINREICHUNG

(1) Für die Kategorien „MAIN PROGRAM“ und „HAMBURG EMERGING ARTISTS“ akzeptiert VRHAM! künstlerische Virtual, Augmented und Mixed Reality-Experiences sowie multimediale Installationen.

(2) Die zur Teilnahme an VRHAM! 2019 berechtigten Projekte werden vom Künstlerischen Leiter des Festivals aus allen Einreichungen nach eigenem Ermessen ausgewählt. Die ausgewählten Arbeiten werden im Rahmen des Festivals 2019 für ein öffentliches Publikum gezeigt.

(3) Die Dauer der eingereichten Projekte sollte nicht länger als 15 Minuten sein. Ausnahmen sind nach vorheriger Absprache möglich.

(4) Das Erst-Veröffentlichungsdatum sollte nicht vor Januar 2018 liegen. Jedes Projekt, das noch in Arbeit ist, muss spätestens bis 15. Mai 2019 abgeschlossen sein. Ausnahmen sind nach vorheriger Absprache möglich.

(5) Akzeptierte Sprachen für die Festival-Einreichung sind Deutsch und Englisch oder Originalsprache mit deutschen und/oder englischen Untertiteln.

(6) Alle für das Hauptprogramm des Festivals ausgewählten Experiences laufen im Wettbewerb um die Vergabe der Preise.

(7) Für den Hamburg Emerging Artist Award qualifizieren sich alle gezeigten Arbeiten von in Hamburg lebenden Künstlern.

(8) Es existiert keine Altersbeschränkung für die Teilnahme am Wettbewerb.

(9) Die Ausschreibung der „VRHAM! RESIDENCIES“ richtet sich an aufstrebende nationale und internationale Künstler*innen zur (Weiter-)Entwicklung innovativer Arbeitsweisen im Bereich Virtual Reality Kunst und 360°-Film. VRHAM! 2019 schreibt in Kooperation mit der Filmförderung Hamburg Schleswig-Holstein je eine Residency mit regionalem und eine mit internationalem Fokus aus. Die Residencies erfolgen in der Woche vor dem Festivalbeginn (5 Tage innerhalb des Zeitraums 31.05. – 07.06.2019). Zwei Kreativteams von je bis zu drei Personen können innovative Arbeiten im Bereich Virtual Reality-Kunst und 360 Grad-Film (weiter-)entwickeln und werden dabei von renommierten internationalen Mentor*innen begleitet. Die Präsentation der Arbeiten findet am Eröffnungswochenende von VRHAM! 2019 (07.-10.06.2019) statt.

pfeil-orange

MATERIAL:

(1) Bewerbungen für die im Open Call ausgeschriebenen Kategorien sind ausschließlich möglich über das Online-Formular unter www.vrham.de/opencall. Die Einsendung ist nur gültig, wenn das Formular komplett ausgefüllt online eingereicht wird.

(2) „MAIN PROGRAM“ und „HAMBURG EMERGING ARTISTS“: Die Projekte müssen innerhalb der Deadline via wetransfer an opencall@vrham.de übermittelt werden. Die Einreichungen müssen deutlich mit dem Titel der Arbeit gekennzeichnet werden, so dass sie dem Online-Formular zugeordnet werden können. Eine Einreichung ist in den folgenden Formaten möglich:

  • 360° Videos: max. Dateigröße 2 GB; in H.264; 30 bis 60 FPS; eine Auflösung von min. 3 K
  • Executable VR experiences: max. Dateigröße 2 GB; min. stable 45 FPS (preferred 60; up to 90 FPS) on OS Windows, Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 oder gleichwertig.

Alternativ können die Arbeiten auch per Passwort-geschütztem Streaming Link, Steam Key, einem Download Link für 360 Grad Videos, einem App Download Package oder einer anderen Executable Datei geschickt werden. Falls die Experiences nicht mit einem von VRHAM! akzeptieren VR Headset (Oculus Go, Samsung Gear VR, HTC Vive, Oculus Rift o.ä.) betrachtet werden können gibt es Probleme bezüglich des gewünschten Formats, dann gibt es Unterstützung unter: opencall@vrham.de

(3) „VRHAM! RESIDENCIES“: Euer inhaltliches Konzept über das Projekt, das ihr im Rahmen der Residency gerne kreieren oder weiterentwickeln würdet (max. 12 Seiten; gerne angereichert mit Bildmaterial, Moods, Videos vergangener Arbeiten) muss uns innerhalb der Deadline via wetransfer an opencall@vrham.de übermittelt werden. Bitte kennzeichnet eure Einreichung deutlich mit dem Titel eurer Arbeit, damit wir sie dem Formular zuordnen können.

pfeil-orange

JURY UND AWARDS:

(1) Eine Jury aus internationalen Expert*innen ermittelt die Gewinner in den beiden Kategorien „MAIN PROGRAM“ und „HAMBURG EMERGING ARTISTS“. Die beiden Preise werden in einer öffentlichen Preisverleihung vergeben. Teilnahme der Künstler*innen und/oder Produzent*innen an diesem Event ist ausdrücklich erwünscht.

(2) Die Ergebnisse der „VRHAM! RESIDENCIES“ werden am Eröffnungswochenende präsentiert bzw. live weiter entwickelt.

(3) Zusätzlich wird in einer separaten Abschlussveranstaltung ein Publikumspreis verliehen.

pfeil-orange

AUSWAHL:

(1) Die Einreichenden werden per E-Mail oder telefonisch über die Teilnahme am Festival benachrichtigt. Sie haben daher sicherzustellen, dass die aktualisierten Kontaktinformationen dem Festival zur Verfügung stehen.

(2) Mit der Einreichung erklärt der Einreichende, dass er über sämtliche Urheber-, Nutzungs- oder sonstige Rechte an seiner Arbeit verfügt, die für die Vorführung der Arbeit im Rahmen des VRAHM! Festivals erforderlich sind und räumt dem VRHAM! Festival e.V., bedingt durch die Zusage der Teilnahme am Festival durch VRAHM!, das vergütungsfreie Recht ein, die Arbeit im Rahmen des Festivals beliebig oft öffentlich vorzuführen.

(3) Mit der Einreichung sichert der Einreichende zudem zu, dass seine Arbeite sowie die unter (4) näher bezeichneten Materialien frei von Rechten Dritter sind. Für den Fall, dass Dritte gegenüber dem VRHAM! Festival e.V. Ansprüche bzgl. der zur Verfügung gestellten Arbeiten und Materialien geltend machen, hält der Einreichende den VRHAM! Festival e.V. von diesen Ansprüchen frei und übernimmt auch die von VRAHM! aufgewandten Kosten der erforderlichen Rechtsverteidigung.

(4) Nach der Auswahl der Projekt für VRHAM! 2019 besteht keine Möglichkeit mehr, die Einreichung vom Festival zurückzuziehen.

(5) Der Einreichende erklärt sich bereit, dem Festival alle Materialien und Informationen (einschließlich Pressematerial, Trailer etc.) zur Verfügung zu stellen, damit sein Projekt bei VRHAM! 2019 angemessen ankündigt und vorgeführt werden kann. Mit Einreichung dieser Materialien räumt der Einreichende VRAHM! die für die Bewerbung des Festivals in allen Medien erforderlichen Rechte ein. Die Freistellung nach Abs. 2 gilt entsprechend.

(6) VRHAM! e.V. behält sich das Recht vor, die Vorführung bereits ausgewählter Arbeiten im Rahmen des Festivals 2019 abzulehnen, falls die Anforderungen an das technische und räumliche Setup wesentlich von den Angaben in der jeweiligen Einreichung abweichen.

(7) Mit der Einreichung für die „VRHAM! RESIDENCIES“ versichert der/die Einreichende darüber hinaus, innerhalb des genannten Zeitraums verfügbar zu sein und die Residencies mit den aufgelisteten Personen wahrzunehmen. Darüber hinaus erklärt er sich zur öffentlichen Präsentation seiner Arbeit am Eröffnungswochenende von VRHAM! 2019 bereit. VRHAM! Festival e.V. übernimmt die An- und Abreise des Kreativteams von maximal 3 Personen sowie die Unterbringung und Verpflegung während der Residency in Hamburg innerhalb des in der Ausschreibung genannten Zeitraums. Des Weiteren stellt VRHAM! Festival e.V. geeignete Räumlichkeiten, eine*n Mentor*in für die künstlerische Arbeit sowie technisches (VR-)Equipment nach Absprache zur Verfügung.

pfeil-orange

VRHAM! ONLINE CHANNEL:

Ausgewählte Projekte aus den Einreichungen werden eingeladen, neben der Präsentation im Festival auch online auf einer geeigneten Internet-Plattform für VRHAM! gezeigt zu werden. Diese ist öffentlich und kostenfrei für Personen zugänglich, die nicht persönlich am Festival teilnehmen können. Wir werden Euch individuell ansprechen, um die Präsentationsmöglichkeiten Eurer Arbeit auf dieser Plattform zu besprechen. Eine Auswahl Eures Projektes im Festival berechtigt nicht automatisch zur Online-Präsentation.

VRHAM