XR History Award & Jury

Together with the Körber-Stiftung, we presented the XR History Award for the first time this year. The prize of 5,000 euros was to be given to a project using immersive technology to bring history, history education and commemorative culture to life.

During the opening ceremony on June 2, Dr. Paulsen, Chairman of the Körber-Stiftung, presented the XR History Award to the British project “CHILD OF EMPIRE” in front of invited guests.

Fascinating, stirring, mediating and above all relevant – that’s XR History Award winner Child of Empire by Sparsh Ahuja and Erfan Sadaati! This animated (VR) docu-drama immerses viewers in one of the largest forced migrations in human history: the partition of India and Pakistan in 1947, making it an innovative contribution to digital history education.

Initiated by Körber-Stiftung and VRHAM!

International Jury

Laetitia Bochud

A curious mind, formerly a freelance journalist, Laetitia Bochud joined Virtual Switzerland to jumpstart and grow the association. Initially supported by the Swiss innovation agency, Innosuisse, Virtual Switzerland fosters the adoption, integration, and development of immersive technologies across art, academia, and industries. Laetitia thrives on shaping and expanding the community, promoting the #SwissXR talents, and creating opportunities for all XR professionals, as director of Virtual Switzerland in Geneva and as president of XR4Europe, the united European XR ecosystem based in Brussels.

Fiona Fritz

Fiona Fritz is a historian and Programme Director for eCommemoration at Körber-Stiftung’s History and Politics Department. She previously worked as Research Assistant at Kiel University and completed her PhD in 2021. From 2018 to 2020 she designed and coordinated international historical-political projects as well as digital formats for young Europeans at Körber-Stiftung.

Oksana Syhareva

Oksana Syhareva is a director and producer of art and culture projects. In 2016, she founded the Academy of Visual Arts educational project, where film creation is taught. In 2018, she opened Art Hub Samokat, a platform for the development of non-formal education in Kharkiv. In 2019, she founded CinemaLab, a laboratory for the development of films. Since 2018, she has been exploring the possibilities of digital technology for art. She organized the VR / AR conference Art of Change, VR / ART Festival Frontier and VR DOC LAB. She is currently working on her second documentary, UP IN THE AIR, and is preparing an online residency to create VR art.

Victoria Grace Walden

Dr. Victoria Grace Walden is Director of Learning Enhancement and Senior Lecturer in Media at the University of Sussex, where she is a member of the Weidenfeld Institute of Jewish Studies and associate of the Sussex Humanities Lab. She currently holds a British Academy/ Leverhulme Trust small grant for the project ‘Digital Holocaust Memory: Hyperconnective Museums and Archives of the Future’. She is on the Professional Advisory Committee for social media projects for the Claims Conference (Israel) and the Executive Board of the Media Education Association (UK), and co-chairs the Museums and Memory working group of the international Memory Studies Association.

Ulrich Schrauth

Ulrich Schrauth works internationally as a curator, creative director and artist in the field of immersive media. Among other things, he is engaged as Artistic Director of the VRHAM! Virtual Reality & Arts Festival in Hamburg, as well as XR & Immersive Programmer for the British Film Institute (BFI) and the London Film Festival. He also oversees many international virtual, augmented and mixed reality projects and is in demand worldwide as a keynote speaker, moderator and jury member focusing on immersive art.

ByteFM

XR History Award & Jury

Gemeinsam mit der Körber-Stiftung initiieren wir in diesem Jahr den XR History Award! Der erste Preis mit 5.000,- Euro geht an ein Projekt, das durch den Einsatz immersiver Technologie Geschichte, Geschichtsvermittlung und Erinnerungskultur erlebbar macht. 

Unglaublich – auf unseren Open Call haben sich über 80 Projekte aus Deutschland, der Ukraine und 20 weiteren Ländern beworben! Wer den Preis mit nach Hause nehmen wird, entscheidet unsere internationale VR-Experten-Jury.

Ganz besonders freuen wir uns, Euch den diesjährigen Laudator zu präsentieren:. Der Journalist mit historischem Instinkt Joachim Telgenbüscher (Twitter: @drguidoknapp) ist Ressortleiter Geschichte bei Gruner & Jahr und verkündet den Gewinner des XR History Award.

Initiiert von der Körber-Stiftung und VRHAM!

Internationale Jury

Laetitia Bochud

Als neugieriger Geist und ehemalige freiberufliche Journalistin kam Laetitia Bochud zu Virtual Switzerland, um das Unternehmen in seiner Anfangsphase zu begleiten und auszubauen. Ursprünglich von der Schweizer Innovationsagentur Innosuisse unterstützt, fördert Virtual Switzerland die Einführung, Integration und Entwicklung von immersiven Technologien in Kunst, Wissenschaft und Industrie. Als Direktorin von Virtual Switzerland in Genf und als Präsidentin von XR4Europe, dem vereinigten europäischen XR-Ökosystem mit Sitz in Brüssel, ist Laetitia bestrebt, die Community zu formen und zu erweitern, die #SwissXR-Talente zu fördern und Möglichkeiten für alle XR-Fachleute zu schaffen.

Fiona Fritz

Fiona Fritz ist Historikerin und Programmleiterin für eCommemoration in der Abteilung Geschichte und Politik der Körber-Stiftung. Zuvor arbeitete sie als wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin an der Universität Kiel und schloss 2021 ihre Promotion ab. Von 2018 bis 2020 konzipierte und koordinierte sie in der Körber-Stiftung internationale geschichtspolitische Projekte sowie digitale Formate für junge Europäer.

Oksana Syhareva

Oksana Syhareva ist Regisseurin und Produzentin von Kunst- und Kulturprojekten. 2016 gründete sie das Bildungsprojekt Academy of Visual Arts, in dem Filmgestaltung unterrichtet wird. 2018 eröffnete sie Art Hub Samokat, eine Plattform für die Entwicklung der nicht-formalen Bildung in Charkiw. Im Jahr 2019 gründete sie CinemaLab, ein Labor für die Entwicklung von Filmen. Seit 2018 erforscht sie die Möglichkeiten der digitalen Technologie für die Kunst. Sie organisierte die VR / AR-Konferenz Art of Change, das VR / ART Festival Frontier und das VR DOC LAB. Derzeit arbeitet sie an ihrem zweiten Dokumentarfilm, UP IN THE AIR, und bereitet eine Online-Residency zur Schaffung von VR-Kunst vor.

Victoria Grace Walden

Dr. Victoria Grace Walden ist Direktorin für Learning Enhancement und Senior Lecturer in Media an der University of Sussex, wo sie Mitglied des Weidenfeld Institute of Jewish Studies und Mitarbeiterin des Sussex Humanities Lab ist. Derzeit erhält sie ein kleines Stipendium der British Academy und des Leverhulme Trust für das Projekt „Digital Holocaust Memory: Hyperconnective Museums and Archives of the Future“. Sie ist Mitglied des Professional Advisory Committee für Social-Media-Projekte der Claims Conference (Israel) und des Executive Board der Media Education Association (UK) und ist Co-Vorsitzende der Museums and Memory Working Group der International Memory Studies Association.

Ulrich Schrauth

Ulrich Schrauth arbeitet international als Kurator, Kreativdirektor und Künstler im Bereich der immersiven Medien. Er ist unter anderem als Künstlerischer Leiter des VRHAM! Virtual Reality & Arts Festivals in Hamburg engagiert sowie als XR & Immersive Programmer für das British Film Institute (BFI) und das London Film Festival. Darüber hinaus betreut er viele internationale Virtual-, Augmented- und Mixed Reality-Projekte und ist weltweit gefragt als Keynote Speaker, Moderator und Jury Mitglied mit dem Themenschwerpunkt Immersive Kunst.